The History Behind the Edmonton Oilers

Posted by on Wednesday, March 13th, 2019 at 7:07am.

The Edmonton Oilers Hockey Team: A HistoryThe Edmonton Oilers are a National Hockey League team playing in Edmonton, Alberta. They were founded in 1971 and the first season they played was the 1972-1973 season. Originally, they were part of the founding group of the World Hockey Association. Another Alberta team was supposed to be a part of the WHA, but they folded before the first season started.

When the Calgary Broncos folded, the name of the Edmonton Oilers was changed to the Alberta Oilers. This only lasted for one season before they returned to the name, Edmonton Oilers. The Oilers didn't become a part of the NHL until 1979 when the NHL and the WHA merged.

After becoming a part of the NHL, the Edmonton Oilers became Stanley Cup winners five times: 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988 and 1990. The Hockey Hall of Fame honoured the team with the "dynasty" label for their success throughout the 1980s.

Dynasty Years

From 1983 to 1990, the Edmonton Oilers were considered a dynasty. They came out in the 1983-1984 season and won 57 games with 119 points earned. This was the best record in the NHL. Gretzky scored more than 200 points for the team and the Oilers had more than three players with 50 or more goals.

Throughout these years, the Oilers experienced a number of successes, other than winning the Stanley Cup five times. Other successes included:

  • Eight players selected to the Canada team for the 1984 Canada Cup
  • A 9-game Playoff winning streak
  • NHL Record 44 goals against the Blackhawks in one Playoff Series
  • Norris Trophy Winner
  • Lady Bying Trophy Winner
  • Multiple Players Selected to the All-Star Team
  • And Much More!

These were some of the best years the Edmonton Oilers have ever had as a hockey team.

Spotlight on the Edmonton Oilers Professional Hockey Team

The Edmonton Oilers ice hockey team are members of the Pacific Division within the National Hockey League’s Western Conference. Founded in 1971 by W.D. Hunter and Dr. Chuck Allard, the Oilers were intended to be one of two Alberta franchises in the World Hockey Association. However, the second team relocated to Cleveland before the first season began. The Oilers transferred into the NHL in 1979 post a merger with WHA.

After joining the national league, the Edmonton Oilers went on to win the coveted Stanley Cup five consecutive years between 1983–84, 1984–85, 1986–87, 1987–88 and 1989–90. Of course four of those championship titles were won under the fierce leadership of hockey legend Wayne Gretzky, who’s statue stands outside of Rogers Place to this day. The Edmonton Oilers are tied with the Pittsburgh Penguins for having the most championship titles since the WHA-NHL merger. In acknowledgment of their success, the Hockey Hall of Fame has honoured the team with dynasty status.

Those looking for a great way to spend some time with friends or family to cheer on a local team should check out an Edmonton Oilers game. In particular, attend a ‘Battle of Alberta’ game against the ‘other’ local team and hot rivals the Calgary Flames.

The Oilers have spent some time rebuilding in recent years, but hope to return to the dominance they once experienced in the 1980s.

Leave a Comment